Gillani reclaims Islamabad’s Senate seat.

According to the information provided, Yousuf Gillani earned 204 votes, his opponent Chaudhary Ilyas Mehrban received 88, and nine votes were disqualified.

After Syed Yousuf Raza Gillani became victorious in the general elections held on February 8th from Multan, the seat became vacant.

Aslam Abro and Jam Saifullah of the People’s Party were re-elected to two Senate seats from Sindh earlier in the day.

The winners of the Senate election held in the Sindh Assembly were Jam Saifullah with 58 votes and Aslam Abro with 57.

Out of the total 162 members of the Sindh Assembly, 124 exercised their right to vote in the final poll.

Voting was conducted by the 116 members of the PPP and the 8 members of the Sunni Ittehad Council.

Jamaat Islami chose not to cast a ballot in the Senate election, while the MQM did not take part in it either.

Today, the National Assembly, as well as the assemblies of Sindh and Balochistan, held voting for the six Senate byelections that are now empty.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button