On April 3, the Election Commission will conduct Senate voting.

The decision to hold Senate elections on April 3 was made by the Pakistani Election Commission (ECP).

The Senate election schedule has been finalized by the ECP. On April 3, there will be voting for 48 Senate seats in the national assembly as well as four provincial assemblies.

Two senators will be chosen from Islamabad, while twelve senators from Sindh and Punjab will be chosen on April 3. Each of the two new senators from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Balochistan will join the upper chamber.

On March 11, the 52 senators who have served out their terms in the Senate will retire. Four senators from the old Fata and twelve senators each from Punjab and Sindh will serve out their terms.

The four Senate seats held by the old Fata will not be up for reelection in accordance with the 25th constitutional amendment.

Twelve new senators will be chosen by the Punjab Assembly. Seven generals, two ladies, two technocrats, and one senator from a minority group will be chosen by the provincial parliament.

According to sources, the Peoples Party, Muslim League-Q, and IPP would form an alliance with the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) to fight the Senate elections. In the Senate elections, the Sunni Ittehad Council will also run candidates.

Eleven senators from Punjab will finish their terms and retire on March 8, 2024.

Following their terms, Dr. Asif Kirmani of the PML-N, Dr. Musadik Malik, Rana Mahmoodul Hassan, and Khalid Shaheen Butt will all step down.

Two senators from Punjab will step down from their six-year terms on women’s reserved seats. Senator Nuzhat Sadiq of the PML-N and Seemi Aizdi of the PTI will say goodbye to the upper house.

Following the conclusion of their terms, two PTI senators will retire. Dr. Shahzad Wasim and Senator Waleed Iqbal of the PTI will be retiring.

The six-year terms of two Punjabi senators serving in technocrat and ulema reserved seats will come to an end. Among them are Ishaq Dar and Hafiz Abdul Kareem, who are backed by the PML-N. Additionally, Punjabi Kamran Michael will retire from a minority reserved seat.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button