The election calendar for 48 Senate seats is released by the ECP.

The timetable states that voting will take place on the second of the next month from 9 am to 4 pm. From tomorrow to Saturday, the candidates may submit their nomination documents to the returning officers.

However, this month’s 19th has been set aside for the examination of nomination materials. On the 26th of this month, a new list of candidates will be released, and by the 27th of the same month, candidates may withdraw their candidacy papers.

Members of the National Assembly will choose senators from among one general seat and one seat reserved for technocrats, such as Ulemas, in the nation’s capital.

It is important to note that the Pakistani Election Commission (ECP) declared that voting for 48 Senate seats will take place on April 2nd of the next month.

Elections on the four seats set aside for the former tribal territories will not take place, according to the electoral monitor. As per the 25th Amendment of the Constitution, these seats were eliminated at the merging of tribal territories into Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP).

The ECP reports that seven general seats, two women’s seats, two technocrat seats, and one minority seat in Punjab would be up for election in the Senate.

It also stated that 12 seats in Sindh would also go up for election in the aforementioned denomination, while in KhyberPakhtunkhwa and Balochistan, the polls will only be carried out on 11 seats.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button