Voting for the six open Senate byelections has begun.

Voting in the National Assembly chamber has started for the by-election to fill Islamabad’s one open Senate seat.

The candidates for the position are Sunni Ittehad Council’s Chaudhary Ilyas Mehrban and PPP’s Yousaf Raza Gilani.

In the meantime, the Sindh Assembly is holding polls for the by-election to fill two general Senate seats from Sindh.

The resignations of Pakistan Peoples Party members Nisar Ahmed Khuhro and Jam Mehtab Dahar have left both of these seats empty.

Syed Yousuf Raza Gillani, Jam Mehtab Hussain Dahar, Prince Ahmed Umer Ahmedzai, Nisar Ahmed Khuhro, Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haideri, and Sarfaraz Ahmed Bugti all left their Senate seats empty.

Two in Sindh,three in Balochistan. three in the federal capital, and these general category seats became vacant

Having won the recently ended general elections, Syed Yousuf Raza Gilani and Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haideri have joined the National Assembly. In the same way, Prince Ahmed Umer Ahmedzai and Sarfaraz Ahmed Bugti were elected to the Balochistan Assembly, while Nisar Ahmed Khoro and Jam Mehtab Hussain Dahar were elected to the Sindh Assembly.

In the meanwhile, returning officers have been chosen by the Pakistani Election Commission to oversee senate elections in Islamabad as well as four provinces: Punjab, Sindh, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, and Balochistan.

Members of the National Assembly will choose one general seat and one seat for technocrats, which includes Ulema from the federal capital, in accordance with a notice released by the Election Commission.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button